6018 N Kenmore Ave, Chicago IL
From the Edgewater Historical Society:
In 1909, Max Eberhardt, one of the founders of Chicago’s municipal court system, commissioned the partnership of Henry W. Hill and Arthur F. Woltersdorf to design a residence. The result was a unique building which incorporates German neoclassical and American prairie style elements. The Hill & Woltersdorf firm are best known locally for the annexes they designed for the Tree House Studios building on LaSalle Street, a Chicago Landmark, and the clubhouse on Pratt (since demolished) of the Edgewater Golf Club. [edgewaterhistory.org/ehs/tours/6018]
Following the Eberharts, the building was owned by the Michael and Tillie Koolish family (1920-1943); the XXXXXX family (1943-?); and the Riedel family (1964-200X).
The Edgewater Historical Society was directly involved in a successful campaign to preserve the building at 6018 N Kenmore Ave from demolition in 2000s:
The Cost of History – Chicago Sun Times
Statement of Facts about Lawsuit Re: 6018 N. Kenmore – Edgewaterhistory.org
Lawsuit Against Edgewater Historical Society Dropped – Edgevillebuzz.com
The building was subsequently purchased by Andre Fiebig and Tricia Van Eck, who direct the current use of the building as 6018North.
Quisque iaculis facilisis lacinia. Mauris euismod pellentesque tellus sit amet mollis.